Skip to main content

If you are a national of one of following countries, and a Tier 4 visa holder, you must follow the instructions on the Irish Naturalisation and Immigration Service (INIS) website to apply for a visa to travel to the Republic of Ireland-




Afghanistan, Islamic Republic of*

Albania, Republic of*

Algeria, People's Democratic Republic of

Angola, Republic of

Armenia, Republic of

Azerbaijan, Republic of



Bahrain, Kingdom of

Bangladesh, People’s Republic of

Belarus, Republic of

Benin, Republic of

Bhutan, Kingdom of

Bosnia and Herzegovina

Burkina Faso

Burma/Republic of the Union of Myanmar

Burundi, Republic of



Cambodia, Kingdom of

Cameroon, Republic of

Cape Verde, Republic of

Central African Republic

Chad, Republic of

China, People’s Republic of

Colombia, Republic of

Comoros, Union of the

Congo, Republic of (Brazzaville)

Congo, Democratic Republic of*

Cote d'Ivoire, Republic of Ivory Coast

Cuba, Republic of*



Djibouti, Republic of

Dominican Republic



Ecuador, Republic of

Egypt, Arab Republic of

Eritrea, State of*

Equatorial Guinea, Republic of

Ethiopia, Federal Democratic Republic of*



Faroe Islands



Gabon, Republic of

Gambia, Republic of the


Ghana, Republic of*


Guinea, Republic of

Guinea-Bissau, Republic of




Haiti, Republic of



India, Republic of

Indonesia, Republic of

Iran, Islamic Republic of*

Iraq, Republic of*




Jordan, Hashemite Kingdom of



Kazakhstan, Republic of

Kenya, Republic of

Korea (North), Democratic Republic of

Kosovo, Republic of

Kuwait, State of




Laos, People’s Republic of

Lebanon, Republic of*

Liberia, Republic of

Libya, State of



Macedonia, The Former Yugoslav Republic of

Madagascar, Republic of

Mali, Republic of

Marshall Islands, Republic of the


Mauritania, Islamic Republic of

Mauritius, Republic of

Micronesia, Federated States of

Moldova, Republic of*



Morocco, Kingdom of

Mozambique, Republic of



Namibia, Republic of

Nepal, Federal Democratic Republic of

Netherlands Antilles

Niger, Republic of

Nigeria, Federal Republic of*



Oman, Sultanate of



Pakistan, Islamic Republic of

Palau, Republic of

Palestinian National Authority



Papua New Guinea, Independent State of

Peru, Republic of

Philippines, Republic of the

Puerto Rico,Commonwealth of



Qatar, State of



Russian Federation

Rwanda, Republic of



Sao Tome and Principe, Democratic Republic of

Saudi Arabia, Kingdom of

Senegal, Republic of

Serbia, Republic of

Sierra Leone, Republic of

Somalia, Federal Republic of*

Sri Lanka, Democratic Socialist Republic of*

Sudan,Republic of the

Sudan, Republic of South

Suriname, Republic of

Syrian Arab Republic



Tajikistan, Republic of

Tanzania, United Republic of

Thailand, Kingdom of

Timor-Leste, Democratic Republic of

Togo, Republic of

Tunisia, Republic of

Turkey, Republic of




Uganda, Republic of


United Arab Emirates

U.S. Minor Outlying Islands

Uzbekistan, Republic of



Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of

Vietnam, Socialist Republic of

Virgin Islands (U.S.)



Yemen, Republic of



Zambia, Republic of

Zimbabwe, Republic of*



You can access the INIS Frequently Asked Questions here -

and the Embassy of Ireland Visa Services website -

1.     Do you need a visa?

Yes, for whatever reason you enter the Republic of Ireland you will be required to obtain a visa.  This includes travelling from Dublin Airport.  If you are caught inside the country without current immigration permission you will be forced to return to Northern Ireland.  The Irish police force, Garda, frequently board trains and buses travelling between Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland and do check to make sure everyone has the correct immigration permission.


2.     I’ve read online about the Irish Short Stay Visa Waiver Programme and my country is on the list included in this therefore I don’t need to apply for a separate visa.  Is this correct?

Unfortunately this visa waiver only applies to nationals from certain countries with Visit Visas for the UK.  If your current UK visa is Tier 4 (General) Student then you will have to apply for a visa for the Republic of Ireland.


3.     How much does it cost?

€60 for a single-journey visa and €100 for a multi-journey visa.  Please note on the INIS website it does state – “In general, for a short stay visa, if two previous Irish visas are held with all conditions observed (e.g. applicant did not overstay or work illegally) an application may be made for a multiple journey visa.  Again, issuance of a multiple journey visa is at the discretion of the Visa Officer.”


 4.     What documents do I need for an Irish visa?

It depends on the purpose of your trip.  This page lists the different types of visa you can be granted for various purposes -  In all situations you will be required to provide bank statements from the previous 6 month period to prove that you can support yourself during your trip.


 5.     How long does a visa take to process?

As a current resident of Northern Ireland you must apply through the Embassy of Ireland in London – you cannot apply directly to Dublin.  You can apply by post or travel to London and submit your application in person.  The Embassy advises that it should take a maximum of 15 working days to process your application from the date it is received.  You can find more information here -

 6.     Can I take a day trip to the Republic of Ireland?  Is there a special visa or permission for day trips?

There is no special arrangement for taking a day trip so you would need to apply for immigration permission before you go.


 7.     Can I do my work placement in the Republic of Ireland?  Do I need a separate visa for this?

Yes, you can undertake a work placement in the Republic of Ireland.  The company you will work for should be able to assist you in applying for a work visa.  Please make sure you contact International Student Support as well so that we can discuss any implications for your UK Tier 4 visa.


 8.     Can I fly in/out of Dublin when taking a holiday/returning home for a trip?

Yes, provided that you have a valid visa for the Republic of Ireland when entering or leaving the country.